Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn Under Parallels Desktop 3

September 22, 2007

I’m currently posting this using Firefox 2.0.0.6 running in Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn Under Parallels Desktop 3 on my MacBook Pro 15-inch Intel Core Duo. Yes, I finally upgraded in December 2006 from the faithful old PowerBook G3 Wallstreet upon which I had first installed Breezy Badger those many moons ago.  More on that after the jump.

I think I’ve satisfied my curiosity and desire to run alternative OSes (such as Ubuntu Linux) on positively ancient Mac hardware for the time being. That’s why I’m also thinking about changing the specific Ubuntu-on-Mac nature of this blog to a more general tech-related blog, to match my current interests.

Feisty Fawn under Parallels Desktop 3 on my MacBook Pro is pretty darn usable. I like the fact that Parallels Desktop supports the two-fingers-on-trackpad-to-right-click feature found on the MacBook Pro. I don’t like the fact that for some reason, 1024 x 768 is the maximum resolution; this places vertical black bars to the left and right of the display, which doesn’t stretch all the way across the much higher-res display of the MacBook Pro. I suppose if I do a little reasearch I’ll find the reason for this as well as a possible fix, but I don’t know if I have the time or motivation to embark upon yet another beating-Linux-into-submission project.

This space may very well be undergoing some changes soon. Keep watching, those select few of you who do. You know who you are. Thanks.

6 Responses to “Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn Under Parallels Desktop 3”

  1. rory Says:

    Hi there

    I just installed Ubuntu hardy Heron under Parallels desktop 3 for Mac on my Macbook (Intel Core Duo) running Leopard. Everything works fine BUT I cannot see any devices. I am a relative newbie, but I cannot share any disks or even see a USB disk in Ubuntu. The USB device is attached and it prompts me when I attach the external HD, but Ubuntu cannot see it. Help?

  2. Hugs Says:

    Times have changed since this post was written, that’s for sure.

  3. Allegro.pl Says:

    Aw, this was a really nice post. In idea I would like to put in writing like this additionally – taking time and actual effort to make a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and by no means seem to get something done.


  4. I adore you’r website design, what template do you have? please reply!


  5. Wow! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It’s on a totally different topic but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Excellent choice of colors!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

