Gnome/Linux Desktop Blogging Apps

Am now posting this entry from the comfort of my own Ubuntu Linux/Gnome desktop on my Powerbook G3 Wallstreet without having to launch a web browser (Firefox is great, but can run kind of pokey on an older machine such as this. ). I got the tip from this comment by tabreziqbal on the WordPress FAQ. Thanks!

I’m using the Gnome blogging applet. To get it on Debian-based systems (Debian, Ubuntu, Mepis, etc.), type this command in terminal:

apt-get install gnome-blog

In my case, I fired up Synaptic Package Manager, searched the repositories with “blog” as my search term, So far it seems very easy to use. I’m also going to try out blogtk for comparison — from the screenshots, it appears to have more formatting options than gnome-blog. To get blogtk on a Debian system:

apt-get install blogtk

Linux is fun! I’m pleased to be getting so much modern-day use out of a 7-8 year old piece of hardware.

Leave a Reply

