Dapper Drake on Powerbook G3/333 Lombard

It’s been a while since I last updated this blog! Several things have developed since my last entry. First, I acquired updated hardware from eBay, in the form of a Powerbook G3/333 Lombard with 256MB RAM and a 6GB hard drive. Unlike my much beloved previous warhorse Powerbook G3/250 Wallstreet, the Lombard is a New World ROM Mac, and thus much easier to install Ubuntu on.

Second, of course, was the release of Ubuntu 6.06 Dapper Drake last June, the latest version of Ubuntu. Long story short, I now have Dapper up and running on my Lombard, which is configured to dual-boot Linux and Mac OS X. I took it with me as my main and only computer on a five-day trip to the University of Maryland in the first week of June. In my informal testing, I was very pleased with the performance of Xubuntu, Ubuntu’s more economical sibling that uses the XFCE front-end rather than Gnome. I really like the fact that Dapper recognized my Linksys WUSB11 802.11b USB Wireless Adapter (just $10 on NewEgg.com) out of the box without any driver installation — unlike Mac OS X.

On the down side, Dapper doesn’t recognize my Orinoco WaveLAN Silver PCMCIA 802.11b wireless card on the Lombard, which had previously been easily recognized by Ubuntu Breezy Badger on the same machine. Faulty PMCIA support is one of the early issues that have been indentified with Dapper, but even though I’ve been updating my installed copy of Dapper, the issue has not yet been resolved on my Lombard. I can still use my Linksys USB wireless adapter, though, so lack of PCMCIA support is not really that big a deal for me at the moment.

3 thoughts on “Dapper Drake on Powerbook G3/333 Lombard

  1. Hi, I’ve also got a Lombard (400Mhz), but try as i may I cannot get Ubuntu / Xubuntu installed. It is sticking at the “Retrieving choose-mirror” stage and Google is no help finding anyone with similar experience – I am trying to install the latest Xubuntu available for PowerPc – Dapper 6-06 .1

    Any ideas?

  2. Significantly, the post is in actuality the top rated on that precious subject. I harmonise alongside together with your conclusions and also will definitely eagerly seem forward to your next updates. Simply stating thanks will not basically be enough, for your phenomenal lucidity inside of your writing. I’ll straight grab your rss feed to stay informed of any updates. Delightful carry out and much achievement within your business dealings!

Leave a Reply

