love + hate = netbook

I have an on-again, off-again relationship with my netbook, an Asus EeePC 701 I bought two years ago, at the very dawn of the netbook era. In retrospect I should have waited before buying, because now I’m stuck with a netbook that’s too small, its keyboard too cramped, storage too tiny (non-upgradeable 4GB SSD) in comparison to today’s netbook offerings.

My Eee PC spends most of its time sitting on my desk, unused. I’ll dust it off every few months, when a new version of EeeBuntu or CrunchEee is released, to test the latest in EeePC-optimized distros (CrunchEee is my favorite), but mostly the thing sits idle.

5 thoughts on “love + hate = netbook

    1. I would if I had the extra fundage right now, but as I have four kids I have other priorities. I’ll just make do with my EeePC 701 for now, thanks. 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

  1. I’ve gotten lots of curious eyes at school since I started my Asus Eee 1005HA. A lot of people ask me about it and I always have the answers because I took a month to research netbooks. I mention the battery life which I usually get about 8 hours with full brightness, playing videos or music, and have multiple programs running simultaneously. The 1005HA has the option to change the power settings straight from the taskbar as well. The netbook is light and sturdy, and it the screen looks great.
    The only thing I could think of that I would change it the monitor being glossy. Being outdoors or in bright classrooms doesn’t really seem to look good as it should, but other than that I love my Asus 1005HA. My girlfriend now wants one and two students at school asked me for the model number.

  2. The Eee PC 1005HA-V offers great user comfort and convenience with its 92% scaled keyboard,
    multi-touch touchpad and instant key (for quick access to touchpad-lock). The 10.1-inch LED-backlit
    display and sleek chassis will allow you to work or travel in absolute comfort for hours on end.
    The generous 160GB hard disk drive storage will enable you to easily store and access your important data..
    Hey, you have a great blog here! I’m definitely going to bookmark you! Thank you for your info.And this is
    **ASUS Eee PC 1005HA**

Leave a Reply

